Law Office of Jeffrey D. Fulton

Wage and Hour Violations Archives

LA companies investigated for wage violations

A number of business owners in California and across the United States are required to provide employees with certain benefits, including fair wages and workers’ compensation coverage. Workers who are injured on-the-job have the right to receive free medical treatment for their injuries. There are companies, however, who may attempt to bypass these laws in an attempt to hold on to more money.

Minor labor laws in California

Although there are situations where minors under the age of 18-years-old are needed to work, there are child labor laws designed to protect them against certain work violations. These Child Labor Laws address issues, including school attendance requirements, wages, work permits, hours of work and minimum ages allowed for certain types of employment.

A look at the Fair Labor Standards Act

When most California employees go to their jobs, they are not wondering whether the company will pay them or treat them fairly. Pay for completed work and fair treatment of employees are routine aspects of life in the U.S. labor force. It was not always so, though, and a look back to the establishment of the Fair Labor Standards Act will provide some perspective. 

Wage violations cause car wash owner millions

Workers in California and across the nation are protected by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act, which defines employee hourly wages, breaks and other benefits. Employers who do not follow these regulations may be charged with violations and face serious fines as a result.

How do tips factor into an hourly wage?

If you work in a job field where tips are a part of your income, it is important to understand how these tips can affect your wages. According to California Labor Law, employees who receive tips as part of their job can be paid a lower wage when compared to the minimum wage required to be paid by other employers. The amount of cash wages you are paid as a tipped employee, however, can vary depending on how many people are employed with the company. For example, companies that have less than 25 employees must pay a cash minimum wage of $10.50, while companies that have more than 26 employees must pay a minimum wage of $11.00.

What rights do I have to a paid family leave?

If you are a new California mother or about to become one, you will be glad to know that you are entitled to a paid family leave under California law. As the California Employment Development Department explains, if you are an expectant mom, you can get as many as four weeks of Disability Insurance benefits before your child is born if your pregnancy is a normal one. In addition, you can get up to six weeks of Paid Family Leave benefits after your baby is born if you delivered him or her vaginally or up to eight weeks if you delivered him or her via Caesarean section.

California addresses wage theft

When business is booming and California employees are putting in more than 40 hours a week, they expect to get overtime pay, but what happens if they do not? And besides not getting the pay they deserve, what happens if workers cannot take regular breaks or have time off for vacation? 

How much time can teenagers work on a film set?

With child actors in high demand on California movie and TV sets, there are bound to be questions of just how long teenagers can work as a film performer. California labor laws spell out detailed protections for minors employed in the film industry, including strict work time requirements for teenagers. State law not only sets how long teens may work on an entertainment project, but how their time on a set is to be spent.

Email Us For A Response

Contact Us To Set Up An Initial Consultation

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy


2150 River Plaza Drive, Suite 260
Sacramento, CA 95833

Phone: 916-993-4900
Map & Directions