While you may think that minimum wage requirements are simple and straightforward, the truth is that the lowest amount you should be paid can depend on a variety of factors. Minimum-wage.org details exactly what you need to know to determine if you are being paid the correct amount at your job in California.
While the Federal minimum wage is $7.25, the state of California has raised the amount they pay to $10.50. While this was a big jump from the previous wage of $8.00 per hour, there are certain areas that have increased that amount to even greater numbers.
When deciding if you are being paid enough, it is important to remember that these laws do not apply to all employees. If you work at a nonprofit or are disabled, your employer may have obtained a certificate for exemptions. Students and outside sales people are exempt, as are employees who are the immediate family members of their employers. Businesses that employ fewer than 26 people are only required to meet a minimum of $10.00 per hour.
If you are employed in Los Angeles county, the minimum wage requirement for businesses with more than 25 employees will increase to $12.00 per hour on July 1, 2017, $13.25 in 2018, $14.25 in 2019 and $15.00 in 2020. Smaller businesses will follow the same pattern, but not be required to match the increase until the following year. The Oakland area is currently required to pay $12.55, while Palo Alto is $11.00 and Richmond is $12.30. These rates will be adjusted for inflation each year and many other areas have increased their rates as well. This information is intended for your education and should not be taken as legal advice.